Cyber Infrastructure Specialist


Program Information

The Cyber Infrastructure Specialist program is a two-year program where students gain highly marketable technical, business, and life skills in the Information Technology field. The program enables students to become proficient in the practices and techniques used in modern IT environments. Throughout the program, students will gain technical proficiency in Microsoft Operating Systems, Linux Operating Systems, virtualization technologies, server administration, disaster recovery, configuration of networks and network services, and security from a user desktop to enterprise systems. 

Students also receive valuable training in several business-related topics such as project management, communication skills, leadership, teamwork, and IT service management. Students bring all these skills together by working on Request for Proposals (RFPs) to provide solutions to common IT projects. 

This program creates a unique, stimulating learning environment in which students can safely master current workplace behaviour, resulting in a smooth transition from education to employment. Opportunities are provided to present creative technical solutions to solve typical IT problems. Instructional methodology across all courses integrate discovery - learning techniques, real-life scenarios, and hands-on applications. Students apply their acquired knowledge and skills to industry-based cases, and projects. This is done through several collaborative team projects and a co-op term. 

This program prepares students for success when studying to write industry certifications for CompTIA A+ (PC hardware), CompTIA Project+, Windows Operating System, Cisco CCNA, and ITIL. Certification requirements are listed at, and

The 7-1-7 Programming Model

This program uses the 7-1-7 model based on seven weeks of classes; a study week; followed by another seven weeks of classes. 

During the spring/summer term, classes may be offered in a compressed format where students take a set of classes in the first seven weeks (Session I) and a second set of classes in the next seven weeks (Session II). 

For information on specific break dates, please see the Academic Dates & Deadlines.

Device Requirements

This program requires a laptop.

Admission Requirements

A college diploma or university degree
- or -
Three years of related work experience

Employment Opportunities

Our graduates have the skills required to enter the computer support field as a network administrator, network technician, security administrator, desktop support technician, computer technician or help desk technician. Depending upon the graduate’s background beyond this curriculum, he or she may be ready to accept a position as an entry-level enterprise systems administrator.


The Cyber Infrastructure Specialist (CISC) program provides various levels of certification both national and technical. Students graduating from the CISC program can be certified as Information Technology Professionals by the Information and Communications Technology Council (ICTC). ICTC represents the Canadian software industry and was founded by a partnership of the Information Technology Association of Canada, Canadian Advanced Technology Association, Canadian Information Processing Society, Association of Universities and Colleges Canada, Association of Community Colleges of Canada, and Human Resources Development Canada. For more information on this certification, visit ICTC National ITP Certification.

To be eligible to receive an Information Technology Professional Program Post-Graduate Certificate from Information and Communications Technology Council (ICTC), students must meet the following requirements:

  • Achieve an average 70% or higher on all CISC courses
  • Successfully complete an approved co-op term
  • Successfully complete the following certification exams:
    • 3 Microsoft Server
    • 2 Microsoft Operating System
    • CompTIA Project+
Upon graduating from the CISC program you will receive the following:
  • The National ITP Post Graduate Certificate from Information and Communications Technology Council (ICTC) provided that you meet the above eligibility requirements.
  • Two-Year Lambton College Board of Governors Certificate

Graduates will also have the foundational knowledge to pursue additional designations:

  • MCSA: Windows Server 2016
  • Cisco Certified Network Associate (CCNA)
  • CompTIA A+
  • CompTIA's Project+
  • ITIL V3.0 Foundations

Please Note: To obtain these designations, students may be required to take additional training or exams at their own expense. Graduates will also have the foundational knowledge for additional designations but additional prep time and fees will be required.

Program Information

Back to Top